Press Releases


(Washington, DC): The American College of Environmental Lawyers (ACOEL) is proud to announce its newly elected Officers and Regents, all of whom are active members of the College.  Their leadership terms began on October 1, 2021 at the College’s Annual Meeting, which was held virtually this year. 

The new Officers for 2021-2022 are:

Michael Hockley, a partner in the Environmental and Energy Law practice of Spencer Fane LLP, was elected President. Mike’s practice concentrates on litigation, environmental law, and renewable energy, with an emphasis on environmental litigation, permitting, and enforcement proceedings. He has represented individual clients, industry groups, and site steering committees in environmental permitting, enforcement, and hazardous waste proceedings and litigation.  He also serves as the Civilian Aide to the Secretary of the Army for Kansas (East).

Kenneth J. Warren, founding member of Warren Environmental Counsel LLC, was elected President-Elect. Ken practices environmental law with a concentration in water law including water quality, water resources, and interstate commissions. He served as Chair of the ABA Section of Environment, Energy and Resources in Bar Year 2003-2004. Ken was appointed by former EPA Administrator Christine Whitman as an industry representative on EPA’s National Environmental Justice Advisory Council and served in that capacity from 2000-2006. His practice involves representing private and government clients with respect to a broad range of environmental statutes and subjects.

Molly Cagle, senior counsel with BakerBotts, was elected Secretary. Molly counsels clients on virtually every kind of environmental matter and represents them before various agencies and in federal and state courts. In the enforcement area, she has litigated and negotiated settlements for clients under the Clean Water Act, Clean Air Act, Resource Conservation and Recovery Act, and their state analogs, as well as Superfund. Molly has counseled on audit issues, under both the state audit law and federal policy. She also has both resolved and tried disputes regarding water supply and utility issues.

Kevin Murray, a partner with Holland & Hart’s Salt Lake City office, was elected Treasurer. Kevin has expertise on complex contamination issues, especially those involving multi-jurisdictional and multi-agency matters in the real estate, mining, energy, petroleum, nuclear, and manufacturing industries. His practice focuses on managing environmental liabilities, repurposing real estate assets, and creating value through property remediation and planning.

The newly elected Regents are:

Michael Burger, Columbia Law School
Alexandra Dunn, Baker Botts LLP
Robin Main, Hinckley Allen
Zach C. Miller, Davis Graham & Stubbs, LLP
Vickie Patton, Environmental Defense Fund
Gail S. Port, Proskauer Rose LLP
Edmund J. Tormey, Iowa Department of Natural Resources
David Uhlman, University of Michigan Law School

All Officers and Regents assume their posts on a voluntary basis and donate their time to ensure that the College operates efficiently.


The American College of Environmental Lawyers is a professional association of distinguished lawyers who practice in the field of environmental law.  Membership is by invitation & members are recognized by their peers as preeminent in their field.  ACOEL members are dedicated to:  maintaining & improving the ethical practice of environmental law; the administration of justice; and the development of environmental law at both the state & federal level.