Press Releases


December 1, 2021
For Immediate Release

(Washington, DC): The ACOEL Foundation, created by the American College of Environmental Lawyers (ACOEL), is proud to announce its newly-elected Officers and Advisory Council, all of whom are active members of ACOEL. Their leadership terms began in mid-September and they will each serve a one-year term.

The Foundation Officers for 2021-2022 are:

Ginny Robbins, President—Ginny is Of Counsel and a former partner at Bond, Schoeneck & King PLLC where she previously chaired the firm’s Environmental and Energy Practice Group and was a member of the firm’s Executive Committee.

Gail Port, Vice President—Gail is the head of the interdisciplinary national and international Environmental Practice Group at Proskauer Rose LLP.

Heidi Friedman, Secretary—Heidi is a partner in the Environmental and Product Liability practice groups at Thompson Hine LLP.

Kevin Murray, Treasurer—Kevin is an environmental partner at Holland & Hart in the firm’s Salt Lake City office; he also serves as the Treasurer for ACOEL.

Allan Gates, Immediate Past President of the Foundation—Allan is a senior member of the Environmental Practice Group of Mitchell, Williams, Selig, Gates & Woodyard PLLC and a Past President of ACOEL.

The Foundation’s newly-elected Vice Presidents for Development are:

Jim Bruen—Of Counsel and former partner at Farella Braun + Martel and a Past President of ACOEL and of the ACOEL Foundation.

Peter Culp—Managing partner at Culp & Kelly, LLP, a Western water, environmental, and natural resources law and policy firm.

Debbie Mans—Partner in TWENTYTWENTY public affairs and most recently the Deputy Commissioner at the New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection.

Melinda Taylor—Senior Lecturer at the University of Texas School of Law and Acting Program Officer at the Cynthia and George Mitchell Foundation; former executive director of the Kay Bailey Hutchison Center for Energy, Law and Business.

The following have been selected to serve on the ACOEL Foundation Advisory Council:

Pam Giblin—Senior Policy Advisor of the Climate Leadership Council, Board Member of the Environmental Law Institute, former partner and head of the Environmental Practice Group at Baker Botts L.L.P.,and a Past President of ACOEL.

Kevin Healy—Senior Counsel in the Energy, Environment and Infrastructure Practice Group at Bryan Cave LLP.

Mike Hockley—President of ACOEL and a partner in the Environmental and Energy Law practice of Spencer Fane LLP.

Seth Jaffe—Partner and Coordinator of the Environmental Practice Group of Foley Hoag LLP and a Past President of ACOEL.


The ACOEL Foundation is a 501(c)(3) affiliate of ACOEL organized to support ACOEL’s pro bono, educational and other charitable activities. The officers, advisory council and trustees of the ACOEL Foundation are all distinguished lawyers who practice in the field of environmental law and have been elected as Fellows of ACOEL based on recognition by their peers as preeminent in their field.  Among the purposes of the ACOEL Foundation are the creation of a self-sustaining tax-exempt base of financial support for the charitable activities of ACOEL and the identification of opportunities that expand the involvement of ACOEL Fellows in projects designed to improve the environment, the administration of justice, or the ethical practice of environmental law.